ON STAGE records GmbH

Still Eighteen, CD

Still Eighteen, CD

Regular price €14,90 EUR
Regular price €19,90 EUR Sale price €14,90 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

CAN | Power glam rock

When family bands are mentioned, the first thing that comes to mind in Germany is the Kelly Family. However, Canadians Joey, Karen and Samantha Ciotti are a completely different story musically. On their debut album, the three of them present mostly straightforward rock songs in which Joey and daughter Samantha alternate on lead vocals, while Joey's wife Karen provides backing vocals. The very first song "Diamonds And Gold" starts with hard rocking guitar riffs from Joey, while Karen Ciotti on drums and daughter Samantha on bass lay down a hard rock rhythm. "You Hit Me Like A Drug" takes you stylistically in the direction of old AC-DC songs - the family literally lets it rip. The rocking, no-frills tracks fuse glam rock, hard rock, grunge and independent and, like most of the songs, deal with current social issues.

However, the three Canadians, who now live in the Dominican Republic, can also strike a calmer note. The slightly folky songs "Bullets And Dust" and "I'm Finding It Hard To Believe In Something", which can be stylistically categorized as independent music, are particularly worthy of mention here. Fans of the Pixies but also the Waterboys will find favor here. Still Eighteen's strong and diverse first album is rounded off with the dreamy, slightly balladic "Just Hang On", where Joey puts aside his guitar as the main instrument and accompanies the song on keyboards.

Still Eighteen's debut album is a work that will leave you wanting more. Anyone who likes straightforward hard rock with a pinch of independent and grunge or garage rock will enjoy the songs and should not miss one of the upcoming concerts.

Joey Ciotti - guitar, piano, vocals
Karen Ciotti - drums, background vocals
Samantha Ciotti - bass guitar, vocals

Track list:
01. Diamonds And Gold
02. You Hit Me Like A Drug
03. Pretty Thing
04. Keep Rocking
05. Bullets And Dust
06. Piazza Cavour
07. A Room Without A Door
08. We Need To Make A Change
09. The Revolution
10. The Sun
11. Carnivores
12. I'm Finding It Hard To Believe In Something
13. Just Hang On

View full details